Lets get bit off the beat. Oscars 2014 (86th Academy Awards) will be held on 2nd March 2014 hosted by Ellen DeGeneres. Lets take a look at nomination and then see who is buzzing to win and then who should win (My choice). Talking about how was performance in that category is just not the issue lets just take fast look into nominations and then mentioning “who will win” and “who should win”

Best picture
“12 Years a Slave”
“The Wolf of Wall Street”
“Captain Phillips”
“American Hustle”
“Dallas Buyers Club”

Who will win:- “12 Year A Slave”

Who Should Win:- “Gravity’


Best director
Steve McQueen — “12 Years a Slave”
David O. Russell — “American Hustle”
Alfonso Cuaron — “Gravity”
Alexander Payne — “Nebraska”
Martin Scorsese — “The Wolf of Wall Street”

Who Will Win:-“Alfonso Cuaron for Gravity”

Who Should Win:-“Alfonso Cuaron for Gravity”


Best actor
Bruce Dern — “Nebraska”
Chiwetel Ejiofor — “12 Years a Slave”
Matthew McConaughey — “Dallas Buyers Club”
Leonardo DiCaprio — “The Wolf of Wall Street”
Christian Bale — “American Hustle”

Who Will Win:-“Matthew McConaughey for Dallas Buyers Club”

Who Should Win:-“Leonardo DiCaprio for The Wolf Of Wall Street”

Best actress
Amy Adams — “American Hustle”
Cate Blanchett — “Blue Jasmine”
Judi Dench — “Philomena”
Sandra Bullock — “Gravity”
Meryl Streep — “August: Osage County”

Who Will Win:-“Cate Blanchett for Blue Jasmine”

Who Should Win:-“Amy Adams for American Hustle”


Best supporting actor
Barkhad Abdi — “Captain Phillips”
Bradley Cooper — “American Hustle”
Jonah Hill — “The Wolf of Wall Street”
Jared Leto — “Dallas Buyers Club”
Michael Fassbender — “12 Years a Slave”

Who Will Win:-“Jared Leto for Dallas Buyers Club”

Who Should Win:-“Jared Leto for Dallas Buyers Club”


Best supporting actress
Jennifer Lawrence — “American Hustle”
Lupita Nyong’o — “12 Years a Slave”
June Squibb — “Nebraska”
Julia Roberts — “August: Osage County”
Sally Hawkins — “Blue Jasmine”

Who Will Win:-“Lupita Nyong’o for 12 Years a Slave”

Who Should Win:-“Jennifer Lawrence for American Hustle”


Best original screenplay
“American Hustle” — David O. Russell and Eric Warren Singer
“Blue Jasmine” — Woody Allen
“Her” — Spike Jonze
“Nebraska” — Bob Nelson
“Dallas Buyers Club” — Craig Borten and Melisa Wallack

Who Will Win:-“Spike Jonze for Her”

Who Should Win:-“David O. Russel and Eric Warren Singer for American Hustle”


Best adapted screenplay
“12 Years a Slave” — John Ridley
“Before Midnight” — Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke and Richard Linklater
“The Wolf of Wall Street” — Terence Winter
“Captain Phillips” — Billy Ray
“Philomena” — Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope

Who Will Win:-“John Ridley for 12 Years a Slave”

Who Should Win:-“John Ridley for 12 Years A Slave”


Best animated feature
“The Wind Rises”
“Despicable Me 2”
“Ernest & Celestine”
“The Croods”

Who Will Win:-“Frozen”

Who Should Win:-“Frozen”


Best foreign feature
“The Hunt” (Denmark)
“The Broken Circle Breakdown” (Belgium)
“The Great Beauty” (Italy)
“Omar” (Palestinian territories)
“The Missing Picture” (Cambodia)

Who Will Win:-“The Great Beauty (Italy)”

Who Should Win:-“The Hunt (Denmark)”


Best music (original song)
“Frozen”: “Let it Go” — Robert Lopez and Kristen Anderson-Lopez
“Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom”: “Ordinary Love” — U2, Paul Hewson
“Her”: “The Moon Song” — Karen O, Spike Jonze
“Despicable Me 2”: “Happy” — Pharrell Williams
“Alone Yet Not Alone”: “Alone Yet Not Alone” — Bruce Broughton, Dennis Spiegel

Who Will Win:-“Let it Go by Robert Lopez and Kristen Anderson-Lopez from Frozen”

Who Should Win:-“Let it Go by Robert Lopez and Kristen Anderson-Lopez from Frozen”


Best music (original score)
“Gravity” — Steven Price
“Philomena” — Alexandre Desplat
“The Book Thief” — John Williams
“Saving Mr. Banks” — Thomas Newman
“Her” — William Butler and Owen Pallett

Who Will Win:-“Steven Price for Gravity”

Who Should Win:-“William Buttler and Owen Pallet for Her”


Best cinematography
“Gravity” — Emmanuel Lubezki
“Inside Llewyn Davis” — Bruno Delbonnel
“Nebraska” — Phedon Papamichael
“Prisoners” — Roger Deakins
“The Grandmaster” — Phillippe Le Sourd

Who Will Win:-“Emmanel Lubezki for Gravity”

Who Should Win:-“Roger Deakins for Prisoners”


Best costume design
“The Great Gatsby” — Catherine Martin
“12 Years a Slave” — Patricia Norris
“The Grandmaster” — William Chang Suk Ping
“American Hustle” — Michael Wilkinson
“The Invisible Woman” — Michael O’Connor

Who Will Win:-“Catherine Martin for The Great Gatsby”

Who Should Win:-“Michael Wilkinson for American Hustle”


Best documentary feature
“The Act of Killing”
“20 Feet From Stardom”
“The Square”
“Cutie and the Boxer”
“Dirty Wars”

Who Will Win:-“The Act of Killing”

Who Should Win:-“20 Feet From Stardom”



Best visual effects
“The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”
“Star Trek Into Darkness”
“Iron Man 3”
“The Lone Ranger”


Who Will Win:-“Gravity”

Who Should Win:-“Gravity’


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here